malleus&incus

Ëspänä

Posted in Indie, Pop by dc3 on July 13, 2010

In a belated celebration of Spain’s World Cup victory comes a band from Sweden. Listen to this Swedish pop collective (yes, all hip things are part of collectives now) I’m from Barcelona. For all its complexity as a band of 29 members (think Broken Social Scene and Polyphonic Spree), the music is light-heartedly simple. Their lyrics are childish but catchy as hell. Consider this ingenious chorus from the song Chickenpox:

“You can’t have it, once you had it

You can’t have it, once you had it

You can’t have it, once you had it, no”

Oversleeping // Let me Introduce my Friends

We’re From Barcelona // Let me Introduce my Friends

Collection of Stamps // Let me Introduce my Friends

Chickenpox // Let me Introduce my Friends

Their first album, Let me Introduce my Friends addresses heavy existential topics such as the one above and others (collections of stamps, treehouses, and being late for work…again). The shamelessly poppy songs demand  attention for only short bursts of silliness, repeating a few lines of absurdity for the entire song. There is no hidden agenda or mocking irony. It is pure hedonism. But it’s also innocent too. Barcelona is also my counterexample to accusations of musical elitism and douche-baggery. Music doesn’t need to be indie or sophisticated, it just needs to be good.

Best listened to: during cloudless summer afternoons in Barcelona or other European city.

Tagged with:

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. readmycomment said, on July 14, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    actually you can hav a form of chicken pox “once you had it”- > “usually as an adult, [chicken pox] can be reactivated and cause a different form of the virus called shingles.[16]”

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chickenpox

  2. fredmy comment said, on July 23, 2010 at 3:02 am

    wow wat a nerd… i bet he goes to harvard


Leave a Reply

