malleus&incus

Stuff that people have posted on my wall

Posted in Lo-fi by jawillisetc on July 16, 2010

(In honor of lo-fi this one is extra sloppy)

There’s plenty to criticize about Facebook. It voraciously devours time, convincing people that the mundane minutiae of their lives are apparently so interesting as to be worthy of broadcast. I know it keeps me from doing my homework, because hey, maybe somebody posted new pictures from their vacation? And ooh, I should post on their wall! But despite possibly destroying my ability to function as a human being, Facebook has supplied me with some excellent music.

Not just excellent music, I’ll go so far as to say it has supplied me with two of my favorite albums of whatever arbitrary time period you want to apply. Of course this is just another way Facebook destroys what little productivity I had before, but hey, at least this one is fun.

P.S. Elliot

Broken record//The Bike Wreck Demo

Entrendre//The Bike Wreck Demo

Like How You Are//The Bike Wreck Demo

Alright, so a while back, I’m gonna say something like mid January, Sam posts on my wall, “Check out P.S. Elliot. –The Bike Wreck Demo. I’ve been jamming to it a lot lately.” Now Sam and Giri are responsible for introducing me to Japanther, when they talk I listen, so I promptly download The Bike Wreck Demo. I turn it on and JESUS CHRIST it opens with the most shrill, painful tin whistle recorded through a rusty can sound. It physically hurts if you have your sound up too loud, but after that there’s real music. Good music.

I mentioned the whistle sound because while the album overall is great, really catchy and fun stuff, it isn’t exactly overproduced. If you want to hear the drums, and I did, you’ll have to deal with the vocals getting a bit shrill, but that incredibly low fidelity ultimately ends up working for the album. The low fidelity makes the music relatable; anyone who’s practiced in a garage, basement, or anywhere with concrete floors and tricycles will recognize the acoustics.

Broken Record, the first song on the EP, sums up what the band is all about. The music is simple, rough, but ultimately catchy. They slow down slightly for Entrendre, the second track, and basically oscillate between those two velocities for the entirety of the the EP’s 14.4 minutes. These guys aren’t technical, but that isn’t the point. They write perfect little pop punk songs, the sort of songs that sound like they’re written exactly for you and drag you in quickly but end before you have a chance to think. 5 real songs, every one under 3 minutes, there’s no reason not to listen at least once.

Good Luck

How To Live Hear//Into Lake Griffy

Stars Were Exploding//Into Lake Griffy

West Wind Ride//Into Lake Griffy

This one came to me courtesy of Dan, a man among men and true American hero. Sometime, mid-November probably, he posts a mediafire link and “You’re welcome”. That’s all he said because that’s all the man needed to say. It may be cliché, but I don’t care, the music speaks for itself.

Good Luck, from Bloomington, Indiana, write infectious, anthemic and surprisingly technical pop punk. Their debut album Into Lake Griffy contains 14  pop punk gems in 43 minutes. The energetic How To Live Here sets the tone for the album, introducing the technical but not ostentatious guitar work and lead singer Matt Tobey’s nasal yet emotive voice. The first lines, “Here we are in this world, I don’t know how we got here but somehow we learned how to live,” encapsulate the broad lyrical themes of the album. Good Luck explores the anxieties and fears that define everyday life, but they do so with an infectiously exuberant outlook. They conjure images of the moment “when the band plays everyone’s favorite song,” on Pajammin, “the beats you tap on the dash when you drum in your car” in Same Stories, and other scenes of the sublime among the everyday. Lyrically, they express their appreciation of the beautiful in life in a way that makes the anxieties and miseries of everyday life worthwhile.

Good Luck are technical for a punk band. The album features numerous solos, but never masturbatory prog garbage. If a song has a guitar solo or some other showy technical trick, its only because it contributes to the emotional impact of the song. I can’t say enough about this band, and every line I write is only going to distract from the music, so I’ll end with this: Buy or download or do whatever you have to to get Into Lake Griffy. You’re welcome.

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. reread my comment said, on July 21, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    so i just installed a Logitech X-540 Multimedia Surround Sound 6-Piece Speaker System in my bathroom so i can listen to this stuff while a i take a shit. acoustics are amazing.

    • jawillisetc said, on July 21, 2010 at 4:31 pm

      That is a good decision. Maybe not the best decision, but definitely top 5. Top 5 for sure.


Leave a Reply

