malleus&incus

Bite Size

Posted in Dubstep, Electronic, IDM by jawillisetc on July 25, 2010

Alright, this one is gonna be really short because I just posted one already, but I just got this album and can’t help myself.


Lorn-Nothing Else
Lorn is signed to Flying Lotus’s Brainfeeder label, but he sounds less like Flying Lotus and more like Nosaj Thing, which is fine by me. Basically what he makes is a heavier, darker, more industrial influenced version of Nosaj Thing’s music, and because I love Nosaj Thing, I also love this.

Nothing Else, Lorn’s first album, sounds like a cross between a horror movie soundtrack, the music in the haunted houses in Super Mario world(and that’s a good thing), and good old fashioned hip hop. The album hits hard, it isn’t trying to be jazzy like Cosmogramma or anything like that. Standouts include the scene setting Grandfather, the industrial Automaton, and Greatest Silence, which you just have to listen to. Really though every track, from the freaky carnival organ bounce of None an Island to the heavily Nosaj influenced Void 1 and Void 2 (even the names are like Nosaj thing), deserves a listen if you have any interest in Nosaj Thing or any of Brainfeeder’s stuff.

Grandfather//Nothing Else//Lorn

Automaton//Nothing Else//Lorn

Greatest Silence//Nothing Else/Lorn

Tagged with:

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jurbanik said, on July 26, 2010 at 5:28 am

    Wow. I’m getting this album ASAP. I thoroughly approve of the impulsive post.

  2. fmale said, on July 26, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    dudes this SHIT has got me so wet i need a diaper, and not some shitty kid ass sized pampers either! No, i need some industrial/military/nasa strength, you know, prescription diapers if u got ’em. DAYYUUMMM… oh and by “SHIT” I literally mean shit! yea u heard me right! im a down right high end pica disorder victim! I LOVE FECES! oh and this albums good too.

    • jurbanik said, on July 26, 2010 at 5:21 pm

      … I’m just a little bit scared. Or scarred, your pick.


Leave a Reply

