malleus&incus

Funcore

Posted in Hardcore, Spazzcore by Sam on July 28, 2010

Hardcore is, by nature, an angry genre (<33 Giri). However, I don’t want that to be the first impression people get of it on the blog. So, here are some fun hardcore bands.

Knucklepuck

Ex-District Five // EP

We Are The Ducks // EP

Mighty Ducks-themed hardcore. There are two hardcore bands named Knucklepuck that I know of. This is the one from Virginia (the other one is from California I think…they’re also not Mighty Ducks-themed). I’m pretty sure they’re broken up now, but I don’t know that for a fact. I missed them playing in my town a few years ago. It still bums me out when I think about missing them playing live. They’re probably one of my all-time favorite bands, because of the mix of quality hardcore with nostalgia-inducing (and just plain fun) lyrics. I think all of my friends are at least somewhat familiar with this band, just because I play them so damn much. Almost all of the lyrics (to my knowledge) are either direct quotes or paraphrased quotes from the three Mighty Ducks movies (with the occasional “fuck” thrown in for good measure). My favorite part on the EP – “I’m Goldberg the goalie!” during the absurd breakdown in “We Are the Ducks”. It brings a smile to my face every time I hear it.

Good Clean Fun

Good Clean Fun // Positively Positive 1997-2002

On the Streets Saving the Scene From the Forces of Evil // Positively Positive 1997-2002

Good Clean Fun like to claim that they put the “Ha” in “Hardcore”, and I’d have to agree with them. They’re a straight edge, vegan, positive hardcore band from Washington, D.C. I’ll be the first to admit that almost every single one of their songs sounds exactly the same (blazing tempo & guy screaming as quickly as possible), but that’s not what this band’s about. Hardcore is a genre that can take itself way too seriously sometimes, and these guys have made it their mission to lighten the collective mood. I feel like to get the full effect of Good Clean Fun, you’d need to understand the hardcore scene a little bit. However, even if you don’t really get the jokes, that doesn’t make Good Clean Fun any less upbeat, catchy, and enjoyable to listen to. They also have the only hardcore song that I know of to feature whistling.

An Albatross

Lysergically Yours, My Psychedelic Bride // Blessphemy (of the Peace-Beast Feastgiver and the Bear Warp Kumite)

You Can’t Take that Hot-Rod With You When You Go // Eat Lightning, Shit Thunder

While not exactly hardcore (spazzcore? grindcore? wtfcore?), I still wanted to include An Albatross in this post because they’re just so damn fun to listen to. They specialize in a brand of grindcore made their own with organs and some seriously weird lyrics. The lead vocalist calls himself a psychedelevangelist, and their lyrics are all about peace, love and Lazer Vikings. Grindcore is all about being fast, and An Albatross don’t disappoint. I feel like their quirky nature is what sets them apart from other grindcore bands. They somehow make grindcore seem danceable. Also, they put on a hell of a live show. I’ve only seen videos, but An Albatross is definitely on my shortlist of bands to see in the near future.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. brainfat said, on July 28, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    Albatrosses, of the biological family Diomedeidae, are large seabirds allied to the procellariids, storm-petrels and diving-petrels in the order Procellariiformes (the tubenoses). They range widely in the Southern Ocean and the North Pacific. They are absent from the North Atlantic, although fossil remains show they once occurred there too and occasional vagrants turn up.

  2. grayish said, on July 28, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    lol i luv the mighty ducks one. and goldberg is so black in that black and white picture

  3. jawillisetc said, on July 28, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    GOLDBERG. THE GOALIE.

  4. Sam said, on July 29, 2010 at 1:17 am

    Lester Averman, bringin’ all the jokes.


Leave a Reply

