malleus&incus

Songs about Winnipeg and Other Subjects

Posted in Breakcore, IDM by Sam on August 14, 2010

Sorry for the lack of posts on my part. I been mathin’ hard.

This post goes out to my friends Josh and Joe, because I probably would’ve never heard any of this stuff if it weren’t for them. Especially Josh, who gave me complete discographies of both of the artists in here, which totally ruled.

I honestly don’t know shit about electronic music. It took me a long time to even really get into the stuff I had. It took me ages to even listen to it. Now I really like it though. If you know anything about breakcore or IDM, these bands are probably old news to you. If you don’t know anything, though, they definitely need to be checked out.

Venetian Snares
Winnipeg is Fucking Over // Winnipeg is a Frozen Shithole

Plunging Hornets // Cavalcade of Glee and Dadaist Happy Hardcore Pom Poms

Hajnal // Rossz Csillag Alatt Szueletett

Venetian Snares aka Aaron Funk is probably my favorite IDM/Breakcore/whatever artist. His music can range from super chill to batshit insane, and I feel like on every recording his sound is just a little bit different. The first track is from his anti-ode to his hometown of Winnipeg, Winnipeg is a Frozen Shithole, featuring such classic tracks as “Winnipeg is a Dogshit Dildo”, “Winnipeg as Mandatory Scat Feed”, and one of my all-time favorite song titles, “Die Winnipeg Die Die Die Fuckers Die”. This is probably his angriest recording, and as a result I think it’s one of the hardest to really get into. Maybe I shouldn’t have led off with a track from it, but it’s my favorite of his albums. 45 minutes of Funk pounding into the listener’s head how much Winnipeg sucks.

The second track is from Cavalcade of Glee and Dadaist Happy Hardcore Pom Poms, whatever the hell that means. This one’s definitely a little more accessible. If I were going to put on a VSnares album for casual listening, this would be it. As a side note, I’m like 95% sure that the sample “Thank you, it’s been a wonderful evening.” is from an episode of The Brady Bunch. I was watching one day, and someone on there said that and it sounded exactly like the clip. However, I foolishly neglected to TiVo the episode, so perhaps I will never be certain.

The last track is from Rossz csillag alatt született. This was a weird album, and I’m not sure that I’ve ever just sat down and listened to it all the way though. It’s definitely on my list of things to do. This whole album consists of him mixing classical music with his normal brand of electronics, and I feel like it’s a really cool hybrid. The music aficionados reading will notice samples of Mahler, Bartok, and Paganini in the track I posted (according to Wikipedia). Also according to Wikipedia, the album was inspired by Funk thinking about being a pigeon in Hungary. Make of that what you will. Whatever the motivation, this is still a pretty cool piece of music, especially when his beats kick in around the halfway point.

Fun Fact: Although I didn’t post it, VSnares is also famous for releasing an album (Nymphomatriarch) with his girlfriend sampling their own sexual noises collected using both internal and external microphones. If you want a weird/interesting/disgusting listen, be sure and look that one up.

The Flashbulb
Lawn Wake IV (Black) // Lawn Funeral EP

If Trees Could Speak // Red Extensions of Me

Lucid Bass I // Red Extensions of Me
Benn Jordan is The Flashbulb. I feel like as an artist, he’s a little more stylistically consistent than VSnares. If you put on a Flashbulb album, you can be pretty sure you know what you’re going to be hearing. The first track is my favorite Flashbulb track. I feel like it somehow manages to be catchy, which I think is kind of weird for this genre. Definitely one of my favorite tracks to crank in the car.

If you’re going to pick up one Flashbulb album, I’d recommend Red Extensions of Me. I feel like this is his best effort, and that’s why I posted two songs from it. First, making me sound like a damn liar, is “If Trees Could Speak”. I said that he’s pretty stylistically consistent, but this is an exception. Weird lyrics combined with guitar and very subtle (for the most part) electronic sounds aren’t exactly the norm for the Flashbulb, but I thought this was one of the standout tracks on the album. It gets stuck in my head all the time, and it’s just so pretty. Second is Lucid Bass I, part of the two-part closer to the album. Again, it’s a more on the lush, relaxing electronic music side, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. The rest of the album is more “Lawn Wake IV (Black)”-esque. Maybe I didn’t do the best job of getting to the essence of the Flashbulb in this post, but these are some of my favorite tracks from him, so whatever.

B-B-B-BONUS TRACKKKKKK (that I’m not going to talk about and just post and that may not even be considered IDM/Breakcore but I don’t know because I don’t know anything about electronic genres)
m1dy
Tokyo Style Speedcore

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. upload photo free said, on September 2, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    hey, I’m unable to subscribe for your RSS feed. Can you aid or do you know why? thanks for the info.


Leave a Reply

