malleus&incus

Summer Mixtape

Posted in Hip Hop, Playlists by jawillisetc on August 19, 2010

Summer may be over for students at southern schools, but I still have almost a month to go, and Prefix Magazine and Potholes In My Blog are making sure that I have a soundtrack to those final aimless days. August 24, Summer Sampler drops, featuring new releases from Big K.R.I.T., DaVinci, Slum Village, Smoke DZA and numerous artists that I can’t wait to get acquainted with. Check it out on Prefix. The album art is too pretty to make black and white.


Two tracks have already leaked from the mixtape, including a track from Big K.R.I.T., who’s crispy southern rhymes were a fixture on my iPod this summer. This latest track, titled “My Interpretation”, shows K.R.I.T. in peak form, spitting over another smooth, self produced beat. The lush production’s classic soul elements make it ideal for slow summer driving; the subtle but powerful bass and brushed drumbeat could make anybody feel badass. Lyrically K.R.I.T. doesn’t break any new conceptual ground, but he spits the standard up-from-nothing cliches with creativity and passion. Although it doesn’t soar to the anthemic heights that “Country Shit” did, “My Interpretation” gives me high hopes for “Summer Sampler”.

Big Krit // My Interpretation

Tracklist after the jump:

Bonus: The other track that has been leaked, in case you’re too lazy to visit the other sites (they’re worth checking out though). Trippy synths and spacey vocals make for a nice chilly track.

Sonnymoon // Blast-Off

[via Pigeons&Planes]

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

