malleus&incus

The Gospel of the Coen Brothers

Posted in Gospel by Sam on August 29, 2010

The Coen Brothers are my current thing (along with Scrabble). I spent the summer scouring the public library’s DVD collection for any of their movies I could find. I was even willing to shell out a few bucks for the ones that weren’t readily available by means of a library card. One thing that always interested me about them is how music seems to play a larger role in their films than in most. Along with the uniformly-superb scores of Carter Burwell, they like to utilize musical genres to firmly plant their movies in a certain place or time (e.g. O Brother, Where Art Thou? with its folk music or A Serious Man with Jefferson Airplane). What I’m posting are two of my favorite movie-music moments of all time. While The Ladykillers isn’t generally considered to be one of the Coens’ best efforts, it holds a special place in my heart for two reasons: it was my first Coen Brothers film, and the music is amazing. Here we go:

Shine On Me // Abbot Kinney Lighthouse Choir

Trouble of this World // Abbot Kinney Lighthouse Choir

These two songs made the movie for me. I hope you like them as much as I do. I’m usually not a fan of gospel-y music, but I seriously love these songs.

Leave a Reply

