malleus&incus

The Bakery: You Enjoy Myself (on the Toilet)

Posted in Jam by jakenebel on August 31, 2010

I love jam bands. This fact makes me somewhat of a pariah in elitist music communities. It is puzzling to me because I think that all music lovers should appreciate live improvisational music in proportion to its skill. But some of my elitist friends say to me: “Jake, how do you listen to such long songs?!” Well, I jam out when I’m working on the computer; I jam out in the car when I’m on the go; and sometimes I just jam out when I’m on the toilet, taking a shit.

I understand some people’s objections to jam bands, but I think I have a knockdown argument here: I mean, what else are you going to do while you’re on the toilet, if not listen to long, live, improvisational music?

In the spirit of this question, I’d like to show you a shit-length jam from the first Phish concert I ever attended – Red Rocks, Colorado, in August 2009. If you are not a fan of jam bands, I ask that you suspend judgment until all seventeen minutes and fifty-four seconds are up, or until you are done shitting.

The highlights include: piano bliss (3:15 – 3:50), rising action (4:30 – 5:00), energetic transition to the funk (6:30 – 7:00), bass jam (13:25 – 14:30), a cappella jam (14:30 – end, although gets pretty weird).

Phish – You Enjoy Myself (2009-08-02 Red Rocks, CO)

Enjoy, don’t cramp up, and wipe well!

Tagged with:

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. molly said, on August 31, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Hey All,

    Sorry for the severe lack of comments on my part. While still keeping up with the posts, I haven’t had much time to do more than give them a quick read. But this one happened to catch my eye in the first free moment I’ve had since being back at school. I was just thinking the other day, “I wish malleus&incus would have someone do a post on jam bands.” Over the past two and a half years, a coworker of mine has been steadily turning me on to jam bands and I’m finally hooked. Phish, of course, is classic and always a great choice. But among the others that I’ve gotten into I have to say (aside from the Grateful Dead), Umphrey’s McGee, Dark Star Orchestra, and The Bridge have quickly become some of my favorites. But one of the greatest things about jam bands is, like other genres, there’s more than one style. It doesn’t matter what kind of music you’re into, there’s probably a jam band that you’ll like, if not at least grow to appreciate.

    If you’re into the weirder, slightly less melodic type of music filled with foreign sounds and strange vocals, then Primus is what you’re looking for. I don’t care what anyone else says, Les Claypool is the man. He can jam like no other. Funky to the core, Claypool offers crunchy bass lines while also providing his unique voice, which makes the band seem kind of odd, but really they’re just entertainers.

    Not your style? Alright, well then for more electronica-based sounds, check out Pretty Lights and Lotus. Pretty Lights is part jam, part hip-hop, part electronica with samples interspersed, sometimes of vocals and sometimes of classical music. It’s glitchy, it’s chill, it’s awesome. Some choice tracks are Finally Moving and If I Could Feel Again.

    Still not your thing? Then check out Lotus. Lotus has some of the sickest jams I’ve ever heard; seriously, prepare for face-melting. Lotus is definitely jam (one word: cowbell), but offers just enough electronic rock to make them not boring, to those who feel that way about jam bands. It’s old school but new school and if you’ve not heard it, their song Bellwether will blow your mind.

    • bakeryjake said, on August 31, 2010 at 12:09 pm

      Thanks, Molly! You can expect to hear tracks from all of those artists (and many more) in the coming weeks from the Bakery, which is our “jam corner,” if you will.

      Split open and melt,
      Jake

      • dc3 said, on August 31, 2010 at 3:25 pm

        I am one of those elitist friends.

    • jurbanik said, on August 31, 2010 at 5:31 pm

      Molly/Jake,
      I am not one of those elitist friends. I love the jam stuff I do have, but wish I had a lot more. Just to add one more into the pile – The disco biscuits. So much fun.

  2. THEYWEREINPURGATORY said, on August 31, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    What the hell is this shit?


Leave a Reply

